The Unquiet Landscape

11 October 2019—11 October 2020

The Unquiet Landscape takes the form of a conversation between D H Lawrence's 1992 novel, Kangaroo and a selection of artworks.

At the core of the exhibition are many paintings from the Castlemaine Art Museum together with important works by living artists.

None of the historical or contemporary art included here was made with Kangaroo in mind, but by pairing each work with a quotation from the novel, unexpected correspondences between image and text are revealed. Sometimes the quotation reinforces the effect of an artwork or it may possibly contradict or collide with the artist’s intentions.

Jenny Long, curator


Rick Amor, Clarice Beckett, Penleigh Boyd, Rupert Bunny, George Coates, Noel Counihan, John Farmer, E Phillips Fox, Siri Hayes, Ruth Hutchinson, Leah King-Smith (Bigambul), Listening Earth, D H Lawrence, Sydney Long, Frederick McCubbin, W B McInnes, Linda Marrinon, Otto Pareroultja (Arrernte), Ambrose Patterson, John Ford Paterson, James Quinn, Lloyd Rees, Cameron Robbins, Stewart Russell & John Wolseley, Spacecraft Studio, Arnold Shore, Dawn Sime, Arthur Streeton, Eric Thake, Christian Thompson (Bidjara), Unknown makers, May Vale, Leslie Wilkie

Image: Siri Hayes, Transmitting by Nautilus from the series Dredge, 2010. Castlemaine Art Museum Collection.


Art Guide Australia, Christine Bell, Cantwell Property Castlemaine, Chapman & Bailey, Colour Factory, Liza Dale-Hallett and Martin Hallett, Rotary Club of Castlemaine, Spacecraft Studio, Shakespeare Solutions, Union Studio Art Framers, Text Publishing, Tint Design

Womindjika Woorineen willam bit
Willam Dja Dja Wurrung Balug
Wokuk mung gole-bo-turoi
talkoop mooroopook

Welcome to our homeland,
home of the Dja Dja Wurrung people
we offer you people good spirit.
Uncle Rick Nelson

The Jaara people of the Dja Dja Wurrung are the Custodians of the land and waters on which we live and work. We pay our respects to the Elders past, present and emerging. We extend these same sentiments to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander First Nations peoples.

Enter here